Square bowl

Last Friday night I needed some shop time to unwind after a crap-tacular week. So I spent a little time working on the lathe making a large version of the Christmas trees I gave as gifts last Christmas. Around 11:30 I was at the point where I should have cleaned up and went to bed but I really wasn’t ready to sleep yet. So I decided to take a stab at making a square bowl. I ended up finishing around 1:30ish and woke the wife up to show her what I’d been messing around with.

Square bowl

This is only the second bowl I’ve made but I’m pretty happy with it. it’s made from some hand-me down laminated maple that I got back when I bought a used cabinet saw from a guy in San Jose. I think that’s a biscuit used to strengthen the glue joint form the lamination in the corner of the picture. It was a fun learning project, I’ll try another soon, maybe made from some scrap cherry and bubinga.

Explore posts in the same categories: home improvement

Leave a Reply

