Kids are still good kids

So last night we got very few trick or treaters, far fewer than in past years. I’m not sure why that was but it seemed to be the whole street, not just us, so I’m not taking it personally.

One of the few groups that we did get were two teenage girls. They got their treats and then left but a few minutes later I noticed that they were still hanging around in the street at the end of our driveway. I snapped a couple light sticks to give myself an excuse to go out and see what they were up to and wandered out. They were just chatting with a group of other young teens, just figuring out where they were going to go next, not up to anything at all. So I handed out light sticks and told them to be safe and, feeling a little guilty, I went back in the house. Apparently, though, I hadn’t actually learned anything.

A few minutes later the same two girls, now wearing lightstick bracelets, came back to our door. I asked them what was up and one asked if we had an apple or a banana. I said sure and went into the house and grabbed a nanner. When I came back out I handed it to her but then asked “now tell me what you’re going to do with it”. I admit it, I’m a bad person. I expected her to do something rude with it or smash it someplace and make a mess, I don’t know. She didn’t think twice, just said “I’m going to eat it, I’m starving” and wolfed it down. Just a teenager who had skipped dinner and was asking for a little help. What in the world was I thinking?

Kids are still good kids.

Explore posts in the same categories: fatherhood

Leave a Reply

